About Dominica

Dominica, officially the Commonwealth of Dominica, is an island nation in the Lesser Antilles region of the Caribbean Sea, south-southeast of Guadeloupe and northwest of Martinique. Its size is 750 square kilometres (290 sq mi) and the highest point in the country is Morne Diablotins, which has an elevation of 1,447 metres (4,747 ft). The Commonwealth of Dominica had a population of 71,293 at the 2011 Census. The capital is Roseau. Dominica has been nicknamed the “Nature Isle of the Caribbean” for its unspoiled natural beauty. It is the youngest island in the Lesser Antilles, still being formed by geothermal-volcanic activity, as evidenced by the world’s second-largest hot spring, Boiling Lake. The island features lush mountainous rainforests, home of many rare plant, animal, and bird species. There are xeric areas in some of the western coastal regions, but heavy rainfall can be expected inland.

Contact Information:

Mr. Ryan Anselm
Head of Plant Protection and Quarantine Services
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry,
Plant Protection and Quarantine Services
Botanical Gardens,
Commonwealth of Dominica
Tel: 767 266 3803 /3820 / 3812
Cell: 767 616 0975
Fax: 767 448 8632
Email: or