About Cuba

Cuba, is an island country in the Caribbean. The nation of Cuba consists of the main island of Cuba, the Isla de la Juventud, and several archipelagos. Havana is the largest city in Cuba and the country’s capital. Santiago de Cuba is the second largest city.[10][11] To the north of Cuba lies the United States (140 km or 90 mi away) and the Bahamas, Mexico is to the west, the Cayman Islands and Jamaica are to the south, and Haiti and the Dominican Republic are to the southeast.

In 1492, Christopher Columbus landed on and claimed the island now occupied by Cuba, for the Kingdom of Spain. Cuba remained a territory of Spain until the Spanish–American War ended in 1898, and gained formal independence from the U.S. in 1902.

Contact Information:

Dr. Emilio Fernandez Gonzalvez
Director of Plant Health Research
Institute (INISAV)
Ministry of Agriculture
Republic of Cuba
Calle 110 #514 entre 5aBy5aF
Miramar Playa,
Tel: 537 202 6788 Fax: 507 202 9366