Cayman Islands

  • Home
  • Cayman Islands

About Cayman Islands

The Cayman Islands is a British Overseas Territory located in the western Caribbean Sea. The territory comprises the three islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman, located south of Cuba and northwest of Jamaica. The Cayman Islands are considered to be part of the geographic Western Caribbean Zone as well as the Greater Antilles. The territory is a major world offshore financial centre.The Cayman Islands were first logged as sighted by Christopher Columbus on 10 May 1503 during his fourth and final voyage to the New World. He named the islands Las Tortugas after the large number of sea turtles observed there. The first recorded English visitor to the islands was Sir Francis Drake in 1586. He subsequently named the islands “Cayman” after caiman, a Neo-Taino word for “alligator”.

Contact Information:

Mr. Brian Crichlow
Assistant Director of Agriculture
Cayman Island Department of Agriculture
181 Lottery Road, Lower Valley, PO Box 459
Grand Cayman KY1 – 1106
Cayman Islands
Tel: 345 947 3090 Fax: 345 947 6501